Sichuan University

Posted in: Forums > Study • 7 posts • NewestRSS

• Eugen
    September 22, 2012
    6 posts

Hello everyone. I was wondering if here are some people who know about Sichuan University? I want to get my undergraduate degree in China and I'm really considering going into Sichuan University.

Is the level of education good there? And is it possible to work part time while in university?

• simark
    September 22, 2012
    4 posts

Hi Eugen,

I've heard mixed things about sichuan university's Chinese program. As with all large class settings, it has its draw-backs, I'm sure. I'm a grad student at Chuan Da right now, and it seems to be ok. I know that the foreign languages deaprtment there seems to offer a wide range of classes and they seem to be pretty good.

Let me explain the pros and cons of studying at Chuan Da (or any such language school in China)

Pro: You are really in the target language environment, so you have lots of opportunities to talk to the people, which is the only real way to learn.

Con: They'll segregate you into a foreigner-only school, so it's easy to avoid contact with other Chinese students.

Con: At the university, you'll be taught in Mandarin. On the streets, everyone speaks Sichuanhua, which is a very distant counsin of Mandarin, and people might not always be willing to switch into Mandarin for your sake.

Pro: Chinese people will probably immediately take a liking to you

Con: This relationship might be a little more for their own benefit, and all this affection might not necessarily be educational. The people will probably always keep you at some distance, and you will never be accepted into their society.

Pro: Small class sizes, especially at the more advanced stages, which means that you'll get more time and attention from your teachers.

Con: As with all teachers, there are good ones and bad ones, and the bad ones don't necessarily get weeded out.

And yes, you can absolutely work while studying.