Sichuan University language programs for advanced students?

Posted in: Forums > Study • 4 posts • NewestRSS

• futbol89
    February 6, 2014
    19 posts

Hi, I'm about to graduate with a bachelors in Chinese Language and Literature. I graduate in May and want to continue my study of Chinese by going back to China (I studied abroad in Chengdu for 1.5 years). I would love to jump right into a career but I want a career that uses Chinese and while my Chinese is decent, it's not near a professional career level. The only way I'm going to do this is by living in China for a few more years and finding a good language program.

With that said, I'm probably around the HSK 5 level (i'm taking the 5 in May but I don't think it'll be a problem). Does Sichuan University have a good program for slightly more advanced learners like myself? I'd love to go with tutors but I have too many student loans and I need to be enrolled in an actual university program to deffer payments (so I can afford to go).

Also, how do I go about applying for this program?

Thanks!

• simark
    February 7, 2014
    4 posts

Hi!

Here's my experience with higher education here in Chengdu: I started as an "extension student" at the undergrad program in 西南民族大学. I did one semester of classroom instruction, then switched to their tutoring program for a year. After that, I went on to the grad school at 川大.

Sichuan University has a language program, but it's rather... well, rigid. It might not quite suit your specific needs because what they offer is a more complete program. I'm not sure you could just jump right into it, and I'm not sure what, if anything, they could do with you. They really seem to want students who will commit to a whole degree-oriented program.

I'm a grad student at Chuan Da, so I'm not 100% sure all this, but it seems to me that they really want people to take a full 2 or 4 year program for the undergrads. I'm not sure, I might be mistaken, but that's the 感觉 I get.