Living in Wenjiang

Posted in: Forums > Living in Chengdu • 5 posts • NewestRSS

• amaleki
    February 28, 2015
    5 posts

Hey guys,

I'm studying at SWUFE and I recently got an apartment in Wenjiang. I'm really new to China, and I was wondering if anyone could give me advice or tips about the district.

1) What are some good bars or clubs that I should check out?

2) Is there a market where I can buy clothes or food for cheap? I

recently left Qianjiang and all I saw were the high end/western shops around Chunxi Road

3) Are there any local places you really recommend I check out?

4) Is there anything I should avoid?

I really appreciate the help, all of this travelling for the first time tends to get a little overwhelming.

• MattC
    March 1, 2015
    21 posts

Have a wander about.
    Anywhere full with locals is usually the recommended place.
    You'll likely stumble on the market too.

All the best bars/clubs will be in chengdu. Unless you want the chinese bar/club vibe.

• invisible
    March 1, 2015
    1534 posts

some answers you may find in this thread

http://www.gochengdoo.com/en/forums/thread/3700/living_in_wenjiang

• florent
    March 4, 2015
    2 posts

hi amaleki,

I'm also a SWUFE student and i'm livingin wenjiang for 6 months now.

If you need some tips, do not hesitate to contact me!

Wechat: 00336154612375

see you.

• ProGolfer
    March 5, 2015
    11 posts

I suppose Wenjiang would have quite a few bars and things based on its five colleges.

Mind you, they would be local bars, which means no bar at all, pitch black - save the the whippersnappin' disco lasers - with blaring pop music and being empty 95% of the time.

Southern China is woefully inferior to Northern China's drinking/bar culture, where they have performances, beauty contests, monkey king impersonators, acrobats, drinking competitions, midgets, comedians, hostesses and anything else that can battle the frigid winters.