Listings > All Reviews

  • AbbyMarsden
    June 2, 2015

    EtonHouse International School

    I would have to second that ynwa2001. My son attended for 6 months just a year or so ago when we were based in Chengdu and my husband was working for an International company. The school is absolutely horrendous and the education my son had was poor to say the least. Teachers DO NOT focus on the children. They are left to colour, paint and the majority of my sons classes involved a computer playing music videos while they all stared at it. It is run in a Hitler-esque way and there is no freedom of expression for the children. Their learning styles are not catered to individually and instead they are dragged around the school holding the uniform of the child infront.
    I thought it might be the way education is in China but if this school is trying to be International then there is nothing International about the teaching. Maybe they use the word to denote they have about 10 children from other countries.
    There is nothing I could recommend about sending your child to the school and for that reason I must give it an abstain rating.
    Maybe things have changed in the last year but judging by the first comment then it appears not. Please dont make the same mistake as we did.
  • The Ryanator
    April 12, 2015

    Ryan's Sandwiches

    GAME OF THRONES!

    We're showing it on Mondays at Ryan's Mexican Cuisine (AKA The Clubhouse). New episode at 9pm and previous episode at 8pm.

    Beer, Burritos & Chicken Wings will be served.

    Address:
    Ke Hua road (same road as Jellyfish and Sichuan Uni West Gate)
    12th Floor of the SOHO building, Elevator in Super 8 Motel

    Chinese address:科华北路费城A座12楼 See you there!
  • CasualBusiness
    March 7, 2015

    Maan Coffee

    newish (?) location in tongzilin area, close to the carrefour. the space is massive, 3 floors!, and never crowded. good wifi, same menu as the one next to somerset just of remnin nanlu.
    most staff speak basic english.
    so much better than the noisy, overcrowded and over priced starbucks.
    Address: Zizhu South 1st street, just south off Zijing East Road
  • Grover Cleveland
    February 28, 2015

    Rumba Latin Bistro & Cocktail Bar

    My wife and I have been to Rumba three times and it is our favorite restaurant in Chengdu. Today we took a group of 9 people and everyone enjoyed the food and said they would return. The food is amazing. This restaurant, with its food quality and flavor, could hold its own in a major U.S. city.

    We like the roast pork, the nachos, the tamarind tea, the cuban sandwich, the sauces, and the mexican corn soup. The set lunch menu is sumptuous and has an unbeatable price (38, 48, or 58 RMB for soup, salad, and an entree). The restaurant ambiance and decor are top-notch. The owner is friendly. It can be a little difficult to find, but once you find it, you won't want to leave.
  • matt.volodzko
    February 25, 2015

    Peter's Tex-Mex

    Have to say, had been eating here every week for awhile. Last time I went I ordered the chicken tenders and got a surprise in the bag (it was take away). Of the 7 pieces of chicken strips I got 2 of them were black. I mean black, jerky-like meat. I may be wrong but I've never heard of black chicken meat before. Not returning. All I have to say.
  • The Beer Nest
    February 17, 2015

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    The Beer Nest I & II open for Chinese NY.

    After being open for 6 months at The Nest II & soon 2 years at The Nest I, we want to Thank all for their support & “Drink Like a Boss”!

    As we are open 365 days a week, we won’t close during Chinese NY! The Nest I will be open from 2pm onwards & The Nest II serving food/drinks from 4pm (normally open at 12pm).

    Check out more information & daily promotions on www.thebeernest.com

    Happy Chinese NY !
  • TravisM
    February 12, 2015

    Rumba Latin Bistro & Cocktail Bar

    Have been here a half dozen or so times and always had a great experience. Food is really good, drinks are nice and there is always some special or event that makes things fun. But I think what makes rumba great is the boss, Chris. He's such a fun, cool guy who is always willing to sit down and have a drink or do a shot with you. Keep up the good work and cheers!
  • GemoD
    February 5, 2015

    Rumba Latin Bistro & Cocktail Bar

    Rumba has Caribbean and Latin American flavors that you just can't find anywhere else in the 'Du, or in all likelihood the entirety of western China. Some dishes are more authentic than others, but they're all good and typically in large portions. A few favorites are the bacon-wrapped dates, the Cuban sandwich, the garlic shrimp, and the piri piri fish. Don't miss the homemade sauces that come with everything; they are awesome! Also the churros (churritos, really, but who cares? You can find them here!) with chocolate sauce are super yummy. The cocktails aren't bad, but a bit pricey, and I'm not a fan of the crushed ice they use which always gets stuck in my straw--and there's a bit too much of it too. Still, it's nice to find a mojito with real sugarcane in it outside of Cuba/south Florida. ;)

    The music is also good, including the DJ and Cuban singer who perform nights. They could change up the playlist on the sound system more though as there is no end to good Latin music out there!

    Inside the decor is bright, but relaxed, and comfortable and not overdone.

    Chris, the manager, is a super nice guy who works hard to make sure his customers are happy. One time he let me and my friends in to celebrate my best friend's birthday, even though he had a private party in the main dining room. Thanks, Chris!

    They seem to be working more on parties lately, which is ok, but I hope they continue to have some laidback nights when it's good to get together with friends.

    All in all, a great place for dinner first and foremost, but from time to time it's good to stay for a cocktail and some music.
  • Atg46
    January 19, 2015

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    Went to the BN-II with a friend on Pizza night! The pizza (classic pepperoni) and the beer (chengdu IPA) were both delicious! And what a great deal!
    I look forward to going back to try some more of the local beers as well as sampling more from the menu!
    Well done and congrats on the new establishment, guys!
  • ChengduTiramisu
    January 11, 2015

    The Sultan Turkish & Middle Eastern Restaurant (Halal)

    This place is superior to everywhere else. I've eaten here tons of time and every time we have an awesome time. Everything on the menu is amazing, the feta cheese salad, baked humus and Lamb kebab skewers are to name a few of my favourites here. They also do a whole BBQ Chicken which is just perfect! The service is great, they literally fall over themselves to look after you, and they have offers everyday of the week.

    Highly recommended!
  • ChengduTiramisu
    January 11, 2015

    Safari

    This is possible one of the worse places I have been in China. The service was absolutely shocking. A group of friends and I went one Evening around 8.30, there was 5 of us. When we arrived we had good expectations, but these were soon to be dashed.

    General, the actual decor and atmosphere is nice, but this is where it stopped. On arrival we order drinks, unfortunately we were miss lead that there was by one get one of daught beer on a Saturday by Hello Chengdu which later on I have found their information that they publish every week is severally out of date. Safari were good enough to honor the offer and supplemented it with a local beer, which we were initially pleased about. However, this was shorted lived, as after two bottles of beer, they mysterious ran out of beer, by 9pm on a Saturday night? Really? We also order wine, Which never came, even after repeatedly ordering and reminding the staff. So we went without wine.

    We continued to order food. This became a bit of a nightmare. Living in China for 2 years now, I'm fully aware that even in western restaurants, the food doesn't come out at the same time, but here,it actually took the mick, to put it politely. Each plate of food, came out within enough time for each person to finish their own food while awkwardly being watch by the rest of the table. This fun game was repeated by each of us with the exception of the humus and french fries which did not appear at all. After reminding the wait staff that we had order this items we were eventually told that the Kitchen was now close, despite the fact that we had ordered the food about an hour earlier.

    To top it all off nicely, we had the dispute over the bill for food that had not appeared at all, and random items that we had never ordered.

    All in all, I will never be visiting Safari again.
    Want Middle eastern food? Visit The Sultan, don't waste your time at Safari!
  • tianci
    January 6, 2015

    The Lazy Pug

    Best cocktails in town hands down. No where else even comes vaguely close. The drinks are real, real strong, and made by Europeans who know exactly what their doing. The great food is an added bonus. Believe the reviews!
  • tianci
    January 6, 2015

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    Beer made with authentic Chengdu tap water. Delicious! You can really taste the rust.
  • tianci
    January 6, 2015

    Tandoor Indian Cuisine

    Not very good food, and sleezy staff. I've given this place several tries always hoping it would be good and it never really has been.

    This last time booked one of their set meals on Tuan Gou, upon arriving told it wasn't valid (despite having already been charged onto my credit card and no refund). Upon quite bit or argument was given a sloppy set of half sized portions and left hungry.

    Thank goodness there's great shao kao nearby and Bookworm right across the street.

    If you want really good Indian food in Chengdu the only place is Cafe Z in the Shangri La Hotel. You'll spend about the same money ad you would at Tandoori, and it includes the rest of the buffet as well.

    Avoid Tandoori, where Indian and Chinese chaos merge into one giant ball of crap!
  • The Pugs
    January 1, 2015

    The Lazy Pug

    Happy, Happy 2015!

    We would like to thank all those that have supported the Pug over the past 4 years! Getting to know a vast majority of our regulars has made our job a pleasure.

    The Pug will be CLOSED today, January 1st, to let our staff relax. We will reopen at 5pm Friday the 2nd.

    Have a safe and healthy New Year and hope to see some of you at the Smokin' Pug Bangkok.

    The Pugs
  • japhy_ryder
    December 19, 2014

    Ryan's Sandwiches

    I've had two burritos now at Ryan's place. The flavour's delicious and the portions are generous. The bean burrito I ordered was huge. And the side of guacamole, despite the price, was a big dollop of deliciousness. I can't vouch for the other dishes yet as i haven't tried them. But I will be trying them very soon. I hope Ryan's Mexican Cuisine is here to stay. Burrito and nachos with a beer and football on TV? sign me up!
  • bobbob
    December 18, 2014

    Ryan's Sandwiches

    Authentic Mexican ???? Nah. Also it's expensive 30rmb for one bean burrito. Sucks!!!!!
  • Ben_Nye
    December 17, 2014

    Ryan's Sandwiches

    TASTY TASTY TASTY! Ryan is back with Mexican food this time, and they're better than the sarnies. Only reason it's not 5 stars is that I still felt like I could eat after eating the tacos and a side last time, but that may have just been because the flavor was awesome and there was an aroma of slow cooked Mexican spice hanging around the bar. Finally some decent and affordable Mexican cuisine. Seriously, what the hell is up with Peter's prices? Nice job Ryan and May, I'll be back again soon.
  • Vas24
    December 16, 2014

    Ryan's Sandwiches

    Went along to Ryan's Mexican cuisine the other day and was really happy with the food. Had the chicken burrito and then went back the next day and tried '3 tacos'. Authentic Mexican flavour, especially the refried beans. Good idea to have chips and salsa as a side option as it just finishes off the meal well.

    Pretty sure I'm gonna come back again soon. Thanks Ryan!
  • corygo
    December 6, 2014

    KaffeStugan

    This review is for Nuhi's deli which is the "new" Kaffestugan. It is by far the best Italian food I've had in Chengdu. The owner is a real gentleman who went out of his way to make me something that wasn't on the menu. I had the large pizza which was a real delight. Also he does the pour over coffee which is still by far the best coffee in the city. Prices are very reasonable. Same exact location as Kaffestugan. The owner's phone number is on the forum for the bread post if you want to inquire about the menu or the hours.