Listings > All Reviews

  • StartupWeChengdu
    November 26, 2014

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    We come here for our casual meetings every once in a while.

    "What you see is what you get" - lots draft beer, combined with good no-nonsense food [damn those ribs!]. Heard the Taco Tuesdays & Mussel Wednesdays are yummie.

    Recommend the monthly free Entrepreneurship meetup [every 3th Wednesday of the month]. Their sounds system equalizer might need some upgrading though.
  • GeorgeC
    November 23, 2014

    Casamosaico

    I stumbled across this little gem of a restaurant yesterday.
    The service was great, waitresses spoke very good English. The food was well presented, very tasty and would not be out of place in any City, in the world.
    I don't understand some of the negative reviews here and although it may be a bit pricey by Chengdu levels, it's about average for a London restaurant, certainly not Michelin star prices!
    The atmosphere could have been a bit better, but the manager asked how everything was as we left and I gave her a couple of suggestions, which I'm sure she took on board and I felt that overall they were trying to make the evening special, not just somewhere to eat.
    All in all, if you want some fantastic food and proper service, then I highly recommend trying this place.
  • ProGolfer
    November 13, 2014

    Burger King

    Don't think either of these Burger Kings off Chunxi exist anymore. Both were being gutted last time I went to get a burger. On the other hand, the location on Xinnan rd. just north of Sichuan Uni was in good - albeit windowless - operation the other day. Pretty standard BK that you would find in most countries. Decent value for a good burger. If only they had jalapenos, though. The "add spice" option is just too Chinese-flavored for me. Tastes like those little sweet beef jerky candies or something. Mmm.. sugar on beef. mmmm....
  • invisible
    November 12, 2014

    Museum of Sichuan Cuisine

    After so many years they haven't added English captions and the restaurant food is now at best average and def. not a sample of outstanding Sichuanese cuisine anymore.
  • macro
    November 11, 2014

    Mike's Pizza Kitchen

    Delicious pizza. Great balance of flavors and ingredients. Hope that Mike and his team will keep up the good work. Definitely worth all its appreciations as the best pizza in Chengdu.
  • No_Why_Laowai
    October 26, 2014

    Rumba Latin Bistro & Cocktail Bar

    Highly recommended new joint less than 10 minutes walk from Chunxi Road, Rumba's excellent food (Cuban-skewed) and impressive cocktail list are just the kickers at a place that could trade on its atmosphere alone. We missed the Cuban singer but the relaxed though colourful decor, latin music and attentive staff were enough to ensure we'll be coaxed back sometime soon. Good selection of share-plates.
  • No_Why_Laowai
    October 26, 2014

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    Having overcome the inevitable teething period that comes with any new place, the Beer Nest 2 is now a favourite Friday night locale. Service is at least of the standard we all enjoyed at the first place and the food (especially that offered as part of the daily deals) is hard to argue with. Despite previous reviews, I'm an advocate of the house IPA - a distinct hoppy bitterness not to be confused with an 'off' flavour, as some diehard Fosters fans have previously suggested!
  • Aireline
    October 13, 2014

    The Arthouse Chengdu

    I ordered brunch and thirty minutes later I got the following:

    A perfectly fried egg with what tasted like sugar lightly sprinked on it.
    Boiled brocoli, boiled mushrooms, toast that tasted sweet like bread from wowo, a slice of chinese sauage (not the bright pink ones, the kinda that actually looks like real meat), some kinda ham that had been fried to look like bacon and a lightly fried slice of tomato.

    No baked beans.

    Needless to sad my inner panda was kinda sad and I whispered quietly "I'm sorry Lazy Pug, I'll never cheat on you again".

    I'm confused about this place, either it's owned by a westerner and whilst they are away the place has gone down the toilet since the review, or all the photos are fake and it's just another chinese place getting it very very wrong.

    Two stars because I'm feeling nice.
  • ProGolfer
    September 29, 2014

    Rumba Latin Bistro & Cocktail Bar

    Great atmosphere with a beautiful bar, booths and DJ. The food is also nicely done and high quality, yet the prices are there to match. I think you could have a nice night out there for about 200/person. The signature chicken has a few different sauces to try. Definitely refreshing from oily, maa-la Sichuan fare. Didn't stay very late but I reckon it would be a fun place to dance latin and party. There are a few other new places in this complex (including another hooters, I think). I'm hoping it really does become a transplant of Hong Kong here in CD - a 7-11 bar will be required. But going to Rumba really was like leaving Chengdu for a couple hours. Check it out!
  • ProGolfer
    September 29, 2014

    The Lazy Pug

    Radical! Sounds awesome. If I ever make it back to Bangkok... I always enjoy having a beer in the Pug. Nice place to be. One thing that I'm confused about though is how quiet the music is. I'm not sure if the sound system is bad or if the volume knob hasn't ever been touched. An environment like that should be pumpin' out the blues. I think I could actually hear Beer Nest's music in Lazy Pug's dining room last time I was there.
    Anyways, congrats on the new deal in Thailand!

    Cheers
  • adrinoe
    September 23, 2014

    TAG Electronic Music Club

    Great Electro and professional Club.
    I go regularly see some Amazing Dj.
    Also like the view .
  • adrinoe
    September 23, 2014

    Beer Nest II Bar & Kitchen

    Still new But progress day by day ..
    Some Draft beer only disponible in the Beer nest II.
    Great choice of food, Mix of French/Belgium style.
  • corygo
    September 18, 2014

    Maan Coffee

    The best coffee spot I've found in Chengdu. Cafestugen (did I spell that right?) was amazing although they are no longer located in Chengdu. Prices are fair, quantity/quality is above average and the environment is by far the most interesting setup that I've found. I don't know about you, but I'm tired of walking into a new coffee spot to look at a menu with coffee priced at 40+ RMB. That's almost $6.xx in the US. That's crazy!
  • ready0559
    September 16, 2014

    Chengdu International School (CDIS)

    CDIS has already moved to the new campus which is located near 2nd Ring elevated, take the EXIT “Shuanggui Road”, then right EXIT “TongHui Street”, at the bottom of exit immediately turn left into TongHui street. It just takes 15 mins from Tongzilin area. You may find the information on www.cdischina.com. Phone: (028) 6517 5228
  • ChengduTiramisu
    September 14, 2014

    Grappa's

    Grappa's is one of my favourite italian's in Chengdu. They have daily offers, steak nights and set menu meal deals. Every time I go there I am treated well, excellent customer service. The food is well priced and definitely worth the quality food received.
  • ChengduTiramisu
    September 14, 2014

    Mix & Match

    Unfortunately Mix and match is no longer here. It has been replaced by a sports bar, with a good lemon daquari I may add.
  • ChengduTiramisu
    September 14, 2014

    Rice plus

    As wonderful as Rice Plus was, unfortunately it is closed now.
  • invisible
    September 12, 2014

    Qiudaoyu Dewei

    Go there if you like real Japanese food.
  • MrAlex
    September 11, 2014

    Mike's Pizza Kitchen

    Mikes pizza is good. I like reading people saying its 'pricey'. LIke a pie anywhere else, from Europe to the North America isn't around $9.99 (American)/ 60+RMB for a crummy pie to $20/about 120 RMB for something decent. I guess compared to a noodle shop its expensive. It just makes me laugh. God, the ingredients were sanitary and quality, but damned if I didn't pay what I'd pay back home for it!

    Also, Eat the mad buffalo. Its good. Seriously. Good.

    Thanks Mike and Aiqing, you guys make great food.

    Oh and tip your servers. Seriously, its a western style restaurant.
  • gyzz77
    September 11, 2014

    Machu Picchu 2

    Friday 12th of september in New Machu Picchu we will have a one time action

    all the CHIMAY belgian beer will be 25rmb for a bottle

    and our glass of french merlot RED WINE will be 25rmb too

    we will have DJ stephan from germany with his melodic minimal set to add to the joy!

    come over! Yulin Beijie nr1